May/June 2024May/June 2024
paykwik al online sportwetten paykasa

Karen Kennedy is APHA’s 2022 Distinguished Service Award Winner

Filed under: Club & Show News,Club and Show News |     

By Jessica Hein, PHJ News

Karen Kennedy of Fort Smith, Arkansas, will be honored June 30 as APHA’s 2022 Distinguished Service Award winner.

An APHA member for 25 years, Karen is passionate about Paints and APHA. She has served as an APHA state director and advisory committee member since 2011; furthermore, she’s taken on roles within the Arkansas Paint Horse Club, Zone 6 Committee and APHA nominating committees.

Karen knows how to produce a fruitful event that keeps exhibitors coming back year after year. She has managed the World Wide Paint Horse Congress and Tulsa March Mania events, and has been the go-to event secretary for the Breeders Halter Futurity since 2013.

In addition to earning more than 600 APHA points herself, Karen is also a successful breeder. Her champion Paint Horses include the following offspring of her mare Shesa Real Pleasure:

  • World champion VS Kolor Koded
  • World champion Hide Your Crazy
  • World champion Red Solo Cup
  • World champion Seems Like Heaven
  • World champion Real Fancy Footwork
  • Reserve world champion The Pleasure Code
  • Reserve world champion VS Code Victoria
  • Reserve world champion VS Code Ted

The Distinguished Service Award honors APHA members who unselfishly contribute to the success of Paint Horses and the association.

“I’m honored I was nominated and chosen for the Distinguished Service Award,” Karen said. “We’ve bred a ton of horses and that’s fun, but I’ve really enjoyed my show management involvement, too.”

A Night of Honors

Start making plans now to join us in celebrating Karen and other 2022 year-end award winners as well as the latest class of the APHA Hall of Fame:

  • Lynn Simons
  • Fred Tabor
  • Pat Trebesch
  • Craig Wood
  • RH Mr Imprint
  • Un Zip Me

The 2023 Hall of Fame Induction & Awards Ceremony takes place June 30 at 6 p.m. in the Round Up Inn in the Amon Carter Building at Will Rogers Memorial Center in Fort Worth, in conjunction with the APHA World Championship Show.

Other year-end award winners include:

  • Breeders’ Trust Leading Sire: Zippos Sensation
  • President’s Gold Star Award: Southwest Washington Paint Horse Club

President’s Clubs of Distinction:

  • Dutch Paint Horse Club
  • Michigan Paint Horse Club
  • Ontario Paint Horse Club
  • Paint Horse Club Slovak Republic

President’s Clubs of Distinction – Honorable Mention:

  • Ohio Paint Horse Club
  • Eastern Nevada Paint Horse Club



It’s sure to be a night to remember! Come honor these trailblazers with your APHA family.

Tickets are going fast—reserve your spot here.

paykwik online sportwetten paykasa