July/August 2022July/August 2022
Magazine Flip
paykwik al online sportwetten paykasa

OSU Equestrian Wins Eighth Big 12 Championship

Filed under: Club & Show News,Club and Show News |     

OSU Equestrian

OSU Equestrian

For the eighth time in program history, Oklahoma State Equestrian won the Big 12 Championship as the top-seeded Cowgirls defeated fourth-seeded TCU, 11-9, for the title Saturday at Diamond Creek Ranch.

“I am so proud of our girls,” head coach Larry Sanchez said. “They rode extremely well the entire weekend and really showed a lot of heart. TCU rode very well today; it was a close meet from the start.”

The meet started with Fences, where the Cowgirls took an early 3-2 lead. The only two Horned Frog points came from Sydney Berube and Raegan Rast when they beat their opponents, 164-163 and 166-159, respectively.

Sydnie Ziegler, who was selected to the All-Big 12 Fences Team and tournament MOP, defeated Emy Lucibello, 171-161. Emma Pacyna secured a 160-133 win against Ashleigh Scully. Captain, Abigail Brayman, secured another Cowgirl point to beat Isabella Baxter, 173-157.

Coinciding with Fences was Reining. JoJo Roberson dropped her point to Shea Graham, 142.5-140. Hannah Lovrien countered with a score of 144.5 to beat Bella Andrews.  Molly Mitchell secured a victory, 146.5-144, a spot on the All-Big 12 Reining Team, and the Reining tournament MOP.

Next, Giorgia Medows defeated Quincee Clark, 137.5-0. To finish the event, Jessica McAllister beat Kelly Harper, 141.5-140.

In Flat, OSU took the event 3-2. The event began with tournament Flat MOP, Katie Pelzel, topping Sydney Berube, 180-173.5. Big-12 Fences Rider of the Year, King, took down Wynne Weatherly, 177.5-165.5.

Jacey Albaugh defeated Sydnie Ziegler, 152-149.5, and Ashleigh Scully scored a 165 to beat Abigail Brayman. Grace McReynolds bested Sydnie Young, 158-154, to continue her undefeated season.

The meet came down to Horsemanship, where the Cowgirls took the contest, 3-2, and secured the win.

The lone TCU points came from Girogia Medows and Payton Boutelle after besting their opponents, 153.5-148 and 152-145, respectively.

Caroline Nielson provided a needed OSU answer by defeating Jessica McAllister, 150.5-147.5. All Big-12 Horsemanship honoree, JoJo Roberson, beat Shea Graham, 152.5-151. Claire McDowall defeated Mattie Dukes, 153-151, to secure the tournament MOP and the championship.

OSU will be back in action at Nationals, April 14-16, in Ocala, Fla., to compete for the national title.

“We have some more work to do before Nationals in a few weeks, but we’re excited to get to Ocala,” Sanchez added.

For season-long coverage of Oklahoma State equestrian, visit okstate.com and follow @OSUEquestrian on Twitter and Instagram.

paykwik online sportwetten paykasa